## PART V.—CANADA AND THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS.\*

The League of Nations is an association of fully self-governing States whose relations are governed by the Covenant. The League of Nations acts through an Assembly and Council composed of representatives of Governments. Fifty-eight States are at present Members of the League, as compared with forty-two at the time of the first Assembly in 1920. Canada, as a signatory of the Treaties of Peace, is an original Member of the League.

The League of Nations has two aims: (1) to preserve peace and to seek a settlement of international disputes; and (2) to organize in the most varied spheres co-operation of peoples, with a view to the material and moral welfare of humanity.

The Covenant, which constitutes the fundamental charter of the League of Nations, was drafted in 1919 by a Commission of the Peace Conference and inserted at the head of the several Treaties of Peace. It came into force on Jan. 10, 1920.

## The Organs of the League.—The organs of the League are:—

- (a) The Assembly;
- (b) The Council;
- (c) The Secretariat;
- (d) The International Labour Organization, (see Chapter XIX);
- (e) The Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Assembly.—The Assembly consists of representatives of the members of the League, and meets annually in ordinary session each September in Geneva. At the 17th Assembly in September, 1936, the Canadian Delegation was headed by the Rt. Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King, Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs.

The Council.—The Council, which originally consisted of five permanent members and four non-permanent members, now consists of four permanent members (the British Empire, France, Italy, and the U.S.S.R.) together with eleven non-permanent members elected for three years from among the States Members of the League. The non-permanent members of the Council are at present as follows: Chile, Spain, and Turkey, terms expiring in 1937; Ecuador, Poland, and Roumania, terms expiring in 1938; Bolivia, China, Latvia, New Zealand, and Sweden, terms expiring in 1939. Canada was a member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

The Council, which normally meets four times a year and more frequently if circumstances should require it to do so, may deal at its meetings with any matter within the sphere of action of the League or affecting the peace of the world.

The Secretariat.—The Permanent Secretariat is the Civil Service of the League. The staff is appointed by the Secretary General with the approval of the Council. The officials of the Secretariat of the League are exclusively international officials, having international and not national duties. The first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond, who was named in the Annex to the Covenant, resigned in 1933 and was succeeded by M. Joseph Avenol, who is assisted by three Deputy Secretaries General and by one Under-Secretary General.

<sup>\*</sup>The League of Nations Society in Canada, 124 Wellington St., Ottawa, is the authorized agent for the publications of the League of Nations.